Skip to content

The Big Day

September 27, 2012

I am sitting here trying not to be nervous as I wait to leave for the hospital to check in for my gastric bypass surgery. The DH has the audacity to have breakfast around me when I haven’t been able to eat since last night and won’t eat truly solid food again for about a month. The old me would be marginally annoyed about such things but, the new me is okay with it. I slept like a child waiting for Christmas morning last night.

It’s amazing to think how something that is supposed to last the duration of an hour has the potential to change your entire life in ways that you cannot even begin to imagine. My stomach is in knots. I have spent the past few days questioning almost everything in my life. I have thought about all of the events, situations, and people that conspired in my getting to be 270lbs. I have thought, dreamed, and imagined about what I will look and feel like a year from now. I am dedicated to changing my entire life. But that dedication brings on its own set of problems. Will I be the same person? No. Will I want the same things for my life? Will I have the same ambitions, goals, and desires? Will I love the same people and more importantly, after such massive changes will they still love me?
Questions, questions, and more questions. At this juncture, I do not have any answers but, I will keep you posted and we can make this journey together.

 

 

From → Weight Musings

One Comment
  1. Molly permalink

    If you don’t mind me asking, what procedure did you have?

Leave a Reply

