Skip to content

251 and counting

October 6, 2012

I woke up this morning with my blood sugar in the toilet. I was sweating, had the shakes, and knew that it was definitely a sugar issue. I got out of bed, tested myself, and my insulin meter read “48”…woah. For any of you who are diabetic or love someone who is, you know that this is a very scary thing. When your blood sugar is in the 40s, you have chance for passing out and even slipping into a coma. So I popped a few glucose tabs and did my thing in the bathroom and then decided that today is the day…I am going to weigh myself.

I took a deep breath as I removed all of my clothes and stepped on the scale and it said: 251. WOO HOO!!! I have not weighed 251 in 10 years or so. Man, this surgery is actually working!  Not that I thought that it wouldn’t, mind you. However it is one thing to hear other people speak about the results and a totally different thing to experience them for yourself.

It is a truly amazing feeling. It almost makes up for having nothing solid to eat and drinking my meals. Almost…

 

 

From → Recovery

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

