Skip to content

18 days and counting

October 15, 2012

Today was a milestone for me. I had my 2 week follow-up with my surgeon and got the positive reinforcement that I definitely needed to boost my confidence and my spirit. I have lost 20lbs post op so far and was told that is the most that my doc has seen someone lose in this amount of time in a long time.

It was great to hear because I don’t really see myself looking any different. All I know is that I feel like I have given up anything food-wise that had ever given me joy. You know you’re a foodaholic when you associate food with good times, bonding with friends, celebrating, unwinding, and consoling yourself. What does a foodaholic do when they are all of the sudden confronted with the fact that they can no longer behave like they have in the past because they are physically unable to do it? Well, it makes for one bumpy ride while you work on discovering who you are going to be in this newly cultivated body of yours.
 It is difficult to be with a group of people who are all eating and you cannot have anything. It is even more difficult when the group of people start discussing your decision to have this procedure done and how they could never do it because they like this food or that food too much or because the holidays are coming up and they want to be able to eat thanksgiving dinner and have christmas cookies.

This season is definitely going to be difficult for me. But, I want to continue focusing on making positive changes and get to the point where I am finally happy with my body.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Hi, I have faith in your path. I had gastric bypass in 2007 I lost a total of 122 lbs taking me from 320 to 198. However eventually I let the thoughts you just voiced take over. I botched my eating and cheated my way back up the scale. I have since regained 41lbs. Don’t listen to anyone but you, keep your eye on the prize and remember why you took this journey! You will do great. Good Luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

