Skip to content

Alcohol consumption post gastric bypass

December 27, 2012

With the holidays around us, I attended a party during the holidays and even hosted Christmas dinner myself. The food wasn’t a big deal. I don’t overeat so even three months post op my stomach is still small. I tried to make intelligent food choices wherever I went and made sure not to overeat. I was not prepared for what would happen when I decided to have a glass or two of wine. I knew that I was not going to over do it solely because alcohol is empty calories and I do not see the point of having those anymore.

So as my guests arrived to my Christmas party, I decided that I was going to have a beer. Well, about halfway through the bottle I was completely and utterly intoxicated. Man, my surgeon was not kidding when he said that alcohol reacts differently in the body post gastric bypass. They always tell you such things but, they generally make it out to be much more than it really is. Well, not this time.

After a particularly rough day last week, I decided that I was going to have a glass or two of wine. Again, after consuming one and a half glasses of wine, I was trashed! It is utterly amazing how my body responds to alcohol now. I am not saying that I am never imbibing again but, I am definitely going to be selective about when I do it and how much I have.

Alcohol is quite dangerous to people who have have gastric bypass surgery. Because the surgery bypasses the pyloric valve in the stomach, any alcohol that is consumed does not have the chance to mix with digestive juices in the stomach. Therefore, the “raw” alcohol flows directly into the small intestines (just as any fluid or food that is consumed after gastric bypass), which happens to effect the consumer much more quickly and the “buzzed” feeling happens to hang around much longer than it would have pre surgery.

So from me to you, if you decide to have a drink after surgery, proceed with caution.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

