Skip to content

Three Months and Counting

December 27, 2012

Today happens to be a milestone in my weight loss journey. Three months ago today, I had my gastric bypass surgery and received a truly new lease on life. The morning of my surgery I was weighed in at 266lbs. Today, I weigh 214lbs. That is a loss of 52lbs in three months. Not too shabby, right? I am working the procedure and using it as the tool it is meant to be. Bread, pasta, and potatoes are ultimately gone from my diet. I focus on lean proteins and vegetables. Sure, I miss pizza and coke zero. I see Pizza Hut commercials and find myself salivating. Then, I quietly remind myself that nothing tastes as good as thin is going to feel and I soldier on and do my best not to think about the things that I used to love to eat that I am now no longer having.

I have been doing some diligent exercise from about 6 weeks post surgery. I go to the gym six times a week for at least an hour a day. I use the elliptical machine, the treadmill, the recumbent bike, and the weight machines. Every other day I do an hour of fat burning cardio and every other day I do a half hour of cardio and 30-45 minutes of weight lifting. This is now my lifestyle. I am never going to be able to not exercise. Even if I do not want to go to the gym, I force myself. Case in point, it was snowing here yesterday afternoon and I made myself change into my gym clothes and walked down the hill to the gym I go to in my townhouse complex. I didn’t want to and it would have been much easier to just sit on the couch and continue to watch cartoons with my children. But, I stopped to think what kind of message that would be giving to them. I enjoy them seeing me head to the gym everyday. I like that they know that I am dedicated to my weight loss and even more than that, I am dedicated to being the healthiest mother that I can be, for them.

It is not easy for me. I have never liked to feel sweaty or to be smelly. I still don’t. But, I come home from the gym and head to the bathroom so I can immediately shower off the funk. I keep waiting for the time that exercise will start to be “fun”. I am not sure that is ever going to happen for me. I am starting to at least look forward to going to the gym because it feels like “me” time. I get the opportunity to not fill up sippy cups, to not help to blow noses, and to not be a meal-generating machine. I have the chance to turn on my Ipod and forget about the outside world for at least a little while. I don’t agree that it is a stress/anxiety buster but, perhaps that will come later for me. I am as stressed as I have ever been right now as my husband and I wait with bated breath for news that he will be able to keep his job and other news on whether or not I am going to be getting a job. Because of all of that stress, I am not sleeping well and have been a bit short on patience for people and for things. But again, I try to push all of that to the back of my mind and make sure that I am getting to the gym daily. I know that this procedure is only going to work as well as I am willing to work it. It is a tool. It is not a magical cure. If you go into the whole gastric bypass process thinking that it is a magic bullet where you are going to go to the hospital for a few days and come out a gorgeous, lean creature you are sadly mistaken. If you are dedicated to the changes that you need to make, eventually it will pay dividends. I have never been able to lose a lot of weight on my own. If I lost any at all, it would be 20lbs at the most and would at some point find its way back to me.

This is my miracle. I am 52lbs lighter today and I am only going to continue to get smaller and smaller because I am dedicated to doing this and that is the result that I want. I will not settle for less. 200lbs is no longer a place I want to be. My goal weight is 140lbs and I have my eye on the prize. The only thing that can get in my way or derail me is me. Even with tough situations like the possibility of my husband losing his job and my family being displaced from our home because we cannot afford to pay the rent are situations that I am going to have to deal with and power through. I pray daily that God will look out for my family and will not allow us to become homeless. I seek inner peace and patience in myself. I work hard not to get discouraged when the scale doesn’t show a difference. I take time to remind myself of the famous saying, “and this too, shall pass”. I owe it to myself.

Frontal photo of me the day of my surgery

Frontal photo of me the day of my surgery

Side view of me the day of my surgery

Side view of me the day of my surgery

Frontal photo of me today, 3 months post op

Frontal photo of me today, 3 months post op

Side photo of me today, 3 months post op

Side photo of me today, 3 months post op

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

